Nigeria is restricting travels from China, US, UK and 10 other countries.

Shortly after today’s meeting, the Presidential Taskforce on COVID-19 announced the Federal Government’s travel restrictions on travellers from 13 high-risk countries with cases greater than 1,000. Nigeria’s government also suspended issuance of visa on arrival to travellers from these countries, noting that any travellers returning from the affected countries will be admitted to self-isolation under the supervisor of the National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) and Port health services. The ban will be effective from March 21, 2020. The countries are:

  • China
  • Iran
  • Italy
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Japan
  • France
  • Norway
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Netherlands
  • Switzerland
  • Germany

This development comes hours after Nigeria confirmed its third case of coronavirus – a Nigerian woman who came in from the United Kingdom on Friday, 12th of March. Nigeria has now joined the likes of other African countries including South Africa, Ghana, Uganda, Morocco, Gabon, Kenya and others who have closed their borders.

More Branches.

Internet Company Reaching Young & Smart Africans from Lagos, Nigeria.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Admit it, you’re scared of coronavirus. Here’s how to help yourself conquer the anxiety

Next Story

Breaking: 5 new cases of coronavirus in Nigeria.

Latest from News & Developments