Cape Verde Islands
Cape Verde Islands

Explore Africa with no Visa

More recently, the longing to explore the African continent by Africans is propagating itself as a worthwhile cause of action, this became apparent to me in the first two pages of my google searches in research, ‘Countries Nigerians can travel to without a visa’, ’10 best visa-free countries for South Africans to visit’ and so on, it’s apparent that Africans are beginning to see the merit of interacting with ourselves to foster a more connected continent. The benefits of easing travel for Africans around Africa are far-reaching in terms of Identity, trade, mental emancipation through our shared realities, and all things bridging this fractured continent. The dream is for Africans to explore Africa with no visa

The African Union has proposed a common Visa policy, and among the goals is a common visa policy that includes visas on arrival [VOA] for all African nationals, and mandatory granting of a minimum 30-day visa for Africans visiting any country on the continent by the end of 2018. The AU has also pledged to introduce a single, continental passport allowing Africans to move freely between borders by 2020.

As we wait for the AU to take forever to implement these plans, here are a few destinations you can have an easy time getting acquainted with;


Seychelles – Visa not required.

In addition, you must be in possession of a return ticket, confirmed accommodation and enough funds to support your stay.


Rwanda – Visa on arrival.

East African Community [EAC] citizens are issued a visa upon arrival valid for six months without a fee

An entry visa only allows a person to enter for 30 days and if they wish to stay longer they must, after they have entered Rwanda, seek another class of residence permit.




Comoros – Visa on Arrival

A return ticket is required, a visa fee of $60 for 45 days, $250 for a year, and $500 for 10 years.

Visa for minors [under 18]: free

Grand Comore, Comoros

Kenya – Visa on arrival

An applicant will still be able to get a visa at the port of entry on arrival. Visas acquired at Kenyan Embassies and High Commissions are also valid and will be honored at the port of entry. The Department has set up a workstation where they can apply for the transit visa at the port of entry in case of unexpected circumstances.

Nairobi, Kenya

Tanzania – Visa on Arrival

Stone town, Zanzibar city

Most visitors to Tanzania must obtain a visa from one of the Tanzanian diplomatic missions. However, a majority of nations can obtain a visitor visa at any port of entry land or air. Most SADC citizens or East African Community citizens do not need a visa for tourism purposes. 3-month tourist visas are available for $50 at all ports of entry [except US citizens, who must buy $100 1 year multiple entry visas].


Cape Verde – Visa on Arrival. [Visa-free for nationals of Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Hong Kong, Liberia, Macau, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Timor Leste, and Togo]

All visitors entering Cape Verde require a visa [cost: 40 euros] and a passport that is valid for at least another 6 months after the travel date. The visa allows you to stay for 90 days. You must enter the country within 180 days after the visa has been issued. Application forms can be submitted via the Internet, fax or mail and are available on the website of the Embassy of Cape Verde.


In respect to regions at large, regional communities in Africa have set up arrangements amongst their member states, here are some I could find [or all that exist]


The Economic Community of West African States [ECOWAS] is the pioneer when it comes to the freedom of movement of people. ECOWAS citizens can travel between countries using the ECOWAS passport. Its 15 member countries include Benin, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, The Gambia, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Togo, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso, Guinea, Guinea Bissau and Nigeria. This freedom is enshrined in the Protocol on Free Movement, Right of Residence and Establishment.

SADC [Southern African Development Community]

Although it is meant to facilitate travel among the 15 SADC countries, the vision is to allow fellow Africans to move freely without a visa in the future. Currently, it is easier for passport holders of developed countries to enter Africa without a visa compared to Africans.

Most nationals belonging to one of the 15 SADC countries can visit another country visa-free. However, there are some that still restrict the movement of people. South Africa, for example, tries to implement a visa-free policy for SADC members – however, there’s a catch on time limits. Citizens of Botswana, Namibia, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe can enter without a visa and stay up to 90 days.


The East African Community (EAC) is composed of 6 partner countries, Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, and Kenya. It is home to 150 million people. The citizens of each of these countries are free to enter any of the member nations without a visa. But, if you are a non-EAC resident, you can avail yourself of the EAC single visa for Rwanda, Kenya, and Uganda.

Nasir Ahmed Achile

Philosophy nut. I recommend Albert Camus and Eckhart Tolle to everyone I know.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Viewing Art Differently!

Next Story

Techpoint is Nigeria’s largest assembly of tech enthusiasts and futurists

Latest from Magazine