Winners & Highlights from the 19th Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) 2023


The 19th edition of the Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) unfolded with much glamour on Sunday, October 29, 2023, at the prestigious Balmoral Convention Centre in Ikeja, Lagos. The event brought together renowned filmmakers, actors, and industry enthusiasts from across the globe to celebrate the very best of African cinema.

Aptly hosted by the dynamic trio of Nancy Isime, Rahama Sadau, and Richard Ato Turkson, the awards ceremony dazzled with entertainment, highlighting exceptional achievements in the African film industry.

A notable standout of the night was the film “Anikulapo,” a historical epic directed by the illustrious Kunle Afolayan. With an all-star cast featuring Kunle Remi, Sola Sobowale, and Bimbo Ademoye, “Anikulapo” clinched the prestigious Ousmane Sembene Award for Best Film in an African Language.

The Michael Anyiam Osigwe Award for Best Film by an African-Born Director Living Abroad went to Jude Idada, the visionary director behind “KOFA,” a remarkable cinematic creation. In the realm of animation, “Jabari,” a captivating animated film produced by the Ghana-based animation studio, stood out, securing the coveted Jubril Malaifia Award for Best Animation.

This edition of the AMAA Awards was a testament to the immense talent, creativity, and dedication that permeates the African film industry. With a diverse array of categories and entries, it showcased the depth and breadth of storytelling, technical prowess, and cinematic artistry across the continent.

Efere Ozaka Award For Best Short Film

Lions (Ethiopia) – Winner

Enmity Djin (Mauritania)

Jubril Malaifia (Namibia)

Award For Best Animation

Lost (Uganda)

Azania Rises (South Africa)

Jabari (Ghana) –  Winner

Bashorum Gaa (Nigeria)

Best Documentary

Africa Cradle of Humanity and Modern Civilization (Senegal/Canada)

Nightlife in Lasgidi (Nigeria)

Maayo Wonaa Keerol – The River is not a Border (Senegal)

Ifine (Beauty) (Sierra Leone)

Le Spectre de Boko Haram (Cameroon) – Winner

Ousmane Sembene Award For Best Film In An African Language

Pusha Pressa Phanda (South Africa)

Anikulapo (Nigeria) – Winner

The Kitera Chronicle (Uganda)

Four Walls (South Africa)

Mami Wata (Nigeria)

Michael Anyiam Osigwe Award For Best Film By An African-Born Director Living Abroad

Talia’s Journey (Senegal/Belgium) – Christophe Rolin

Golden Stripes (Nigeria/UK) – Peace Osigbe

KOFA (Nigeria/Canada) – Jude Idada – Winner

Best Diaspora Short Film

We Were Meant To (United States) – directed by Tari Wariebi

The Ballad of Olive Morris (United Kingdom) – directed by Alex Kayode-Kay

Fifty-Four Days (United Kingdom) – directed by Cat White and Phoebe Torrance

Raw Materials (Jamaica) – Directed by Sosiessia Nixon – Winner

Best Diaspora Documentary

Sound of the Police (United States) – Directed by Stanley Nelson – Winner

Fantastico Negrito – Have You Lost Your Mind Yet (United States) – directed by Yvan Iturriaga and Francisco Nuñez

Black Rio (Brazil) – directed by Fernando Sousa and Gabriel Barbosa

Best Diaspora Narrative Feature

Cheese (Trinidad & Tobago) – directed by Damian Marcano

Our Father, The Devil (United States) – Directed by Ellie Foumbi – Winner

The Pastor and the Revolutionary (Brazil) – directed by José Eduardo Belmonte

Best Achievement in Production Design

Pat Nebo – Anikulapo – Nigeria – Winner

Eve Martin – Omen – DRC

Sira – Burkina Faso

Antoine Nshimiyimana – Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda

Chantel Carter – Gereza – South Africa

Best Achievement in Costume Design

Bunmi Demilola Fashina – Mami Wata – Nigeria

Toyin Bifarin Ogundeji – Anikulapo – Nigeria

Millicent Jack – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) – Nigeria

Djibril Drame – Xalé – Senegal – Winner 

Elkehoste and Baloji Omen – DRC

Sidi Ouedraogo Sira – Burkina Faso

Best Achievement in Make-Up

Campell Precious Arebamen – Mami Wata – Nigeria – Winner

Hakeem Effect and Toyin Bifarin Ogundeji – Anikulapo – Nigeria

Lila Vander Elst – Omen – DRCOur Lady of the Chinese Shop – Angola

Omowunmi Okungbure – Gangs of Lagos – Nigeria

Best Achievement in Soundtrack

Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda – Winner

L’Axe Lourd (The Highway) – CameroonGereza – South Africa

Omen – DRC

Obinna Arua – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) – Nigeria

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Andrej Gregori, Voranc Kumar, Ziga Radulji -Omen – DRC

Alexandre Dachkevitch – Mami Wata – Nigeria

Josh Borrill – The Trade – Nigeria

Emmanuel Bassey – Gangs of Lagos – Nigeria – Winner

Best Achievement in Sound

Juliana Oswald – Our Lady of the Chinese Shop – Angola

Vianney Aube – Sira – Burkina Faso – Winner

Erik Griekspoor – Omen – DRC

Samy Bardet – Mami Wata – Nigeria

Michel Tsagli – Xalé – Senegal

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Lilis Soares – Mami Wata – Nigeria – Winner

Joachim Philippe – Omen – DRC

Richard Henkels – Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda

Thomas Wilski – Talia’s Journey – Senegal/Belgium

Eduardo Kropotkine – Our Lady of the Chinese Shop – Angola

Best Achievement in Editing

Nathan Delannoy – Mami Wata – Nigeria

Bertrand Conard – Omen – DRC – Winner

Sylvie Gadner – Sira – Burkina Faso

Layla Swart – Gereza

Madhew Leutwyler – Fight Like a Girl

Best Achievement in Screenplay

C.J. ‘Fiery’ Obasi – Mami Wata – Nigeria

Ufuoma MeHHri – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) – Nigeria

Moussa Sene Absa, Pierre Magny, Ben Diogay Beye – Xalé – Senegal – Winner

Madhew Leutwyler – Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda

National Film and Video Censors Board (NFVB) Award for Best Nigerian Film

Mami Wata – Winner


4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four)

Gangs of Lagos

The Trade L.I.F.E.


Best Young/Promising Actor

Maleek Sanni – Gangs of Lagos – Winner

Ewube -L’axe Lourd (The HighwayDarisimi Nadi – Obara’m)

Sanou Titiama – Le chant des fusils (The Song of the Rifle)

Eyiyemi Afolyan – Anikulapo

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Francis Onwuchei – The Trade – Nigeria

Jeff Jackson – Four Walls – South Africa

Hakeem Kae-Kazim – Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda

Jimmy-Jean Louis – Rise – Winner

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Uzoamaka Aniunoh – Mami Wata – Nigeria

Rokhaya Niang – Xalé – Senegal – Winner

Clarck Natmbwe – Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Richard Mofe Damijo – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) – Nigeria

Marc Zunga – Omen – DRC

Fenando Kamugisha – The Fallen Advocate –Uganda

Tobi Bakre – Brotherhood – Nigeria – Winner

Justine Murichii – Shimoni – Kenya

Mike Danon – Sira – Burkina Faso

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Lucie Debay – Omen – DRC

Ehle Mbali Mlotshwa – 4 Walls – South Africa

Nafissatou Sisse – Sira – Burkina Faso

Adesua Etomi – Guns of Lagos – Nigeria

Nse Ikpe Etim – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) – Nigeria – Winner

Bimbo Ademoye – Anikulapo – NigeriaAma Qamata – Fight Like a Girl – Rwanda

First Debut Feature by a Director

Baloji – Omen – DRC – Winner

Ery Claver – Our Lady of the Chinese Shop – Angola

Jean Elliot Ilboudo (le Chant des fusils) The Song of the Riffle – Cameron

Best Director

Moussa Sene Absa – Xalé

C. J. ‘Fiery’ Obasi – Mami WataBaloji – Omen

Apolline Traore – Sira – Winner

Izu Ojukwu – 4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four)

Kunle Afolayan – Anikulapo

Kgosana Monchusi, Menzi Mzimela, Juvaiś Dunn – 4 Walls

Best Film

Xalé- Senegal – Winner

Mami Wata – Nigeria

4-4-44 (Four Four Forty-Four) Nigeria

Omen – DRC4

Walls – South Africa

Sira – Burkina Faso

Anikulapo – Nigeria

More Branches.

Internet Company Reaching Young & Smart Africans from Lagos, Nigeria.

1 Comment

  1. It is my fave to read posts that have the potential to stimulate thought in people of both sexes. I would also like to express my gratitude for the opportunity to submit input.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Kenya Says It’ll Be Visa-Free To All African Countries

Next Story

X Plans to Shut Down the Circle Feature on October 31

Latest from Featured